Latest Updates

2013-2014 Teachers Recognized!

Home > Latest Updates > 2014 Articles >
During the 2013-14 school year the British Columbia Conference operated a school system that included five senior academies and a total of 15 schools scattered around the province.

For more than twenty years, Dr. and Mrs. Reuben Matiko have actively supported Adventist education in BC and have sponsored annual awards of recognition for selected teachers.

Each year teachers are recognized for their service to Adventist education. This year the recipients are as follows:

Excellence in Teaching (Matiko Award) In recognition of their teaching and commitment to Adventist education:

Cyndi Walper, Avalon Adventist Junior Academy, Port Hardy Laura Lui, Deer Lake SDA School, Burnaby Lisa Brucks, Cariboo Adventist Academy, Williams Lake Bobie Rowse, Deer Lake SDA School, Burnaby Byron Emmons, Deer Lake SDA School, Burnaby Linda King, Fraser Valley Adventist Academy, Aldergrove

Administrator of the Year Award (Matiko Award) In recognition of outstanding leadership in school administration: Gaylene Best, vice-principal, Deer Lake SDA School, Burnaby

Up and Coming (Matiko Award) In recognition of a new teacher with a high potential for a career of excellence: Sara Sutherland, Okanagan Adventist Academy, Kelowna.

Educators received these awards in June in their home school communities.

All of the above awards included a commemorative plaque and $1,000.

BC’s teachers are answering God’s call to the teaching ministry.

They are not seeking external recognition, but these awards are appreciated and accepted gratefully.

We acknowledge and thank Dr. and Mrs. Matiko for their ongoing generous support of our education system in British Columbia.

Share your thoughts about this article:

There are no comments.